Wrestling: Late fall gives South Elgin first regional crown

Story Image Elgin's Wardell Rosemon wrestles with South Elgin's Cody Pych in the 170 pound championship match at South Elgin High School in South Elgin, Ill., on Saturday, February 4, 2012.

| Andrew A. Nelles~For Sun-Times Media |
Story Image

Updated: February 4, 2012 8:20PM

Conant and South Elgin battled all day at the Class 3A South Elgin Regional only for the title to come down to the final match of the tournament. 

South Elgin junior Nick Kowalski’s victory at 285 pounds by fall in the third-place match clinched the Storm’s first wrestling regional title in school history 167-162.5 over Conant.

“I knew I had to win by fall to give our team a chance to win,” said Kowalski. “I knew the team needed me and was happy I could come through.”

In addition to Kowalski, South Elgin had seven other wrestlers qualify for sectionals. Winning individual titles for the Storm were Cory Pych (113), Marco Aguirre (132) and Cody Pych (170).

Although unable to capture the team title, Conant still advanced 10 wrestlers to sectionals. Bobby Alexander (106) and Travis Sylvester (145) won individual titles for the Cougars.

Conant freshman Bobby Alexander had his second impressive weekend in a row. Last weekend Alexander defeated Barrington standout Adrian Gonzalez at the Mid-Suburban League tournament.

“I feel though I’m definitely peaking at the right time,” said Alexander. “I’ve got quite a lot of confidence going in to sectionals.”

Lake Park senior Farai Sewera continued his great season with a regional title at 160. The Lancers senior is now 35-1 on the season after earning his first regional title.

“I’m very happy with how I did today,” said Sewera. “I will have some tough matches at sectionals, but in the meantime I will enjoy this.”

Schaumburg 220-pounder Josh Marchok (37-0) continued his pursuit for his second straight state title. Marchok won his fourth regional title Saturday in as many chances.

“My confidence is high going into sectionals,” said Marchok. “I’ve qualified for state the past three years so I know what it will take to make it again, and what I need to do to prepare.”

Also winning titles were St. Charles North’s Jordan Scalice (120) and Tim Noverini (152), Lake Park’s Austin Schoen (126) and Blake Santi (138), Elgin’s Richie Santana (182) and Jorge Zavalla (220) and Larkin’s Devontae Joshua (285).

© 2015 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit www.suntimesreprints.com. To order a reprint of this article, click here.

Comments  Click here to view or make a comment