Wrestling: Mount Carmel wins 12th straight regional

The show Mount Carmel’s wrestlers put on at their own Class 3A regional was nothing David Denne and Mike Mizaur haven’t observed before.

The Caravan veterans have seen their team come together after a slow start and on Saturday Mount Carmel won its 12th straight regional and 23rd in 26 seasons, beating runner-up Lane 243.5-203.

“To watch Mike Mizaur and Bryce Brill go at it, [they’re] some of the best kids in the country and you just watch it every day,” said Denne, who won the 220-pound title. “I just love it.”

Mizaur, the 132 champ and one of just four seniors in the Caravan lineup, has enjoyed watching his younger teammates grow up this season. “They’ve been working really hard,” he said. “It’s almost like they don’t realize age is a factor once they get in that [practice] room. ... When we’re in the practice room, we all hate each other. But when we walk out, we’re the best of friends.”

Denne (18-6) won the best match of the finals, getting a takedown at the buzzer to beat St. Rita’s Ben Threloff 7-5. Denne’s mindset against Threloff, who won the Catholic League title at 195, was simple: “Coach [John Kading] would kill me if I don’t score [so] score fast.”

Mizaur (29-5) pinned Lane’s Tommy Angsten in 42 seconds, while Brill (39-1) won a 20-5 technical fall over St. Rita’s Mike O’Connor in the 145 final. Mount Carmel’s other champs were Jack Diana (15-11), a 12-8 winner over Kelly’s Alberto Dominguez at 106; Notay Jackson (22-2), who beat St. Rita’s Mike Murphy 4-2 at 160; and Jimmy Mickens (33-8), a 9-2 winner over Lane’s Filip Czarnecki at 182.

Lane’s Max Schneider (33-0) had two more pins en route to the 152 title, including a 3:27 fall over Mount Carmel’s Brendan Hall in the final. He’d been hoping to lead the Indians to their fifth regional title in seven seasons. But the absence of 113-pounder Danny Carlson (sprained ankle) and the resulting lineup shuffle hurt Lane, which reached the Class 3A quarterfinals last season.

“We didn’t have the winning formula this time,” Schneider said. “[Not having] Dan-Dan made a huge difference. It’s kind of heartbreaking to see senior year, but I still love the guys and we’re still a team. We still have [individual] sectional and state to look forward to.”

The other unbeaten champ besides Schneider was De La Salle 285-pounder James Buss (35-0). Though Buss has rarely been tested in competition this season, he’s stayed sharp by working out with Meteors assistant Anthony Volanti, a Class AA state qualifier in 2005. “He puts me to the test,” Buss said.

Nick Jankowski (35-3 at 126) and Ryan Pozniak (35-8 at 170) also won titles for Lane. St. Rita, which was third with 187 points, had four champs: Colton Kielbasa (25-13 at 113), Mike Falco (19-15 at 120), Tim Corse (26-6 at 138) and Keith McGee (16-12 at 195).

© 2015 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit www.suntimesreprints.com. To order a reprint of this article, click here.

Comments  Click here to view or make a comment